Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Big ones, small ones

Following on from my recent post about mental health cartoons I thought I’d expand to take in some of my other current favourite illustrators. These are some of my favourites because they represent all shapes and sizes of women, enjoy.

Cécile Dormeau

Cecile-Dormeau-INT-9

I’ve completely fallen in love with Cécile’s work since stumbling across it via someone, via someone else on Instagram. She’s french, living in Germany and her illustrations are loud, simple, bold, and just generally pretty fun.

FullSizeRender (12)

You can find out more about Cécile at her Tumblr site, and I wholly recommend following her on Instagram too

FullSizeRender (1)

Heather Mahler

I’ve been following Heather for quite a long time now, when I first saw her work I really liked these impish, Tankgirl-esque illustrations.

FullSizeRender (6)

I really don’t know too much about her except that she’s based in the US and creates these really striking drawings featuring a number of cool girl heroines. Saying that they’re like Tankgirl isn’t entirely fair as I do think she has a really distinctive style.

FullSizeRender (4)

I like both of the above because, not only are they cool girls, but they’re cool girls with pretty sizeable girl hips, and they don’t care about that, not at all.

FullSizeRender (13)

I also know that she has an etsy shop and her work is very very reasonably priced considering her talent – I’ve got her on my list (another one, yes) to buy some of her work soon. Oh, and she also draws Pokémon, so that’s cool too.

FullSizeRender (7)

You can find out more about Heather on her Tumblr.

Stickymonger (aka Joohee Park)

Now I’m not entirely sure where to start with Stickymonger, as with a number of people I follow I managed to stumble across them on Instagram and have then worked backwards from there. I think I discovered Stickymonger as she is currently exhibiting at the World Trade Gallery and I slightly fell in love with her girl-characters.

FullSizeRender (8)

A little bit manga, a little bit Sonic Youth album cover, all kinds of awesome.

Screen Shot 2016-09-05 at 08.22.29

These pictures are simultaneously beautiful and unsettling. I love her singular view.

screen-shot-2016-09-05-at-08-28-22

Simone Massoni

I’ve only included female illustrators to this point so probably best to include a guy right? (I’m all for equal representation 😉 )

fullsizerender-10

Simone is an Italian artist and illustrator who is pretty adept at creating some really striking ladies.

IMG_6249

You should definitely check out his website, instagram and also his Chicks and Types project which matches some fairly racy ladies with lots of lovely fonts.

screen-shot-2016-09-16-at-15-51-12

Click through to the Society6 shop and you can buy some of these images as prints.

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed these talented artists’ work as much as I have!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2016 by in Art, illustration, Online owling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
