Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Shop Small day: 3 of the best

You may or may not know but there’s been a campaign gathering momentum online encouraging people to shop at small and independent local stores for their Christmas shopping. Its that time of year when everyone gets a little bit crazy so isn’t it worth splashing that cash where it’ll really make a difference? As well as offering your friends and family something really unique and lovely to open on christmas day, shopping at local stores, craft fairs or small online retailers and designers will mean you help those places – they will really feel the benefit of your purchases.

With that in mind I thought I’d give a run-down of my current top 3 stores online and inspire you with some amazing designers – for your shopping delectation, enjoy!

1. Alice apple www.aliceapple.co.uk / Alice Apple on Etsy

Honestly now, lets just have a look at Alice Apple’s logo shall we, doesn’t this just scream amazing?

Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 14.26.38

I defy anybody not to completely fall in love with Alice Burrows’ website with its kitsch retro colours and designs. Just browsing through the blog basically makes me want to throw all of my christmas decorations away and replace them exclusively with her lovely hand sewn or hand-felted objects.

DSCN4600

Unfortunately these little beauties sold out before I could get my mitts on them, but these gorgeous hand-felted birds are still available! Yay!

il_570xN.672691377_24bt

I’ve also had a late addition to my christmas list – she has a range of these amazingly cute little dogs in retro and vintage prints available – so gorgeous! I must own one! View the collection here.

il_570xN.695182704_fajd

 

 

2. Wolf and Badger www.wolfandbadger.com

Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 14.33.14

I did a substantial amount of my shopping this year online at Wolf and Badger, as their website says “The Wolf & Badger ethos is to promote, support and retail only the most exciting independent fashion, jewellery, accessories and interior design brands from the UK and beyond.”

And so they’re a really amazing one stop shop for presents – I’ve bought some lovely jewellery and scarves, but mostly I’m head over heels in love with the tableware selection they have.

Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 14.36.59

There are a range of items by the amazing designer Louise Wilkinson, and this rabbit side plate is one of the loveliest. I think I’d basically be happy with anything she produces for Christmas – maybe it’s time to get rid of all of my tableware and buy new?

You can buy the plate here.

Although…

Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 14.36.18

Lobsters are always a winner in my book, so maybe I should reconsider and get this Eleanor Stuart one instead… decisions decisions… Buy the plate here.

 

3. Howkapow www.howkapow.com

Another one stop shop, if Howkapow was a country I think I would choose to go and live there – I think it would be sunny all year round…

hkp-logo-howkapow

Another amazing stop for homewares and also kids bits and bobs. I’ve fallen in love with this amazing lamp

Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 14.44.35

It’s coincidentally called the Sunshine Dip lamp, and it’s by Camilla Westergaard (otherwise known as Butterscotch and Beesting) – isn’t it just beautiful? You can also check out Butterscotch and Beesting on Etsy.

Screen Shot 2014-12-06 at 14.44.06

I do love a humorous scarf, so this design of a load of foxes raiding a bin – it appeals in a way that I don’t think an Hermés original ever will – plus it’s much more affordable! It’s by Karen Mabon and you can buy it from Howkapow here.

I hope that’s inspired you! And don’t forget, there are still some really lovely and cute little bits on the Antique Owl Etsy shop 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
