Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Rainbow Vintage Home: Curtain de-stash!

Hooray for Instagram, I’ve been an avid Instagrammer for a long time now and have managed to amass over 1400 pics and make some lovely friends along the way. It was via Instagram and Pinterest that I discovered the lovely Rainbow Vintage Home. Run by Rachel, the site sells gorgeous gorgeous vintage fabric from the 60’s and 70’s – if you dont believe me then just take a look at the website now – and try to resist the colourful loveliness…

shoplogosmaller

Rachel is – like me – a bit of an Instagram addict and always posts lovely vintage bits and bobs as well as some of her fabric…

Rainbow Vintage Home on Instagram 2

You can imagine how pleased I was then, when I discovered that Rachel was going to offer up some of her precious curtain collection to us hungry IGers…

RVH Curtain destash

 

There were a lot of lovely pieces from her collection up for grabs, and I managed to walk away with a couple – so you can imagine how pleased I was when my post-lady turned up with this little pile of beautiful stuff…

Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 16.14.33

I got two Scandinavian curtains with this amazing spiralling flower pattern in oranges and yellows…

Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 16.14.21

I’m going to use it to make a half curtain for my kitchen, and turn the rest into a table runner. When I (eventually) find the ercol windsor/goldsmith/stacking chairs I’m searching for, then I’m hoping to use the remaining fabric to make some lovely chair cushions. Just need a few sewing machine lessons from mum first…

Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 16.14.11

Then I got this absolutely massive triangular flower patterned curtain, which is a range of lovely greens blues and brown and has a really bold huge repeat! It’s going to become a curtain for my understairs cupboard… eventually…

I also just want to say a little bit about Instagram and why I love it so much. It might seem obvious but if you’re selective about who you follow, and you are kind and thoughtful, you’ll meet some really lovely people. They are people, real people, out there! Somehow IG manages to be a little more personal than the likes of Twitter. Case in point – look at this lovely card Rachel sent along with my stash…

Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 16.14.02

She also sent me this awesome piece of Whipsnade zoo kids fabric absolutely gratis! Because I was seriously considering buying a curtain for the little bean’s room (but finances prevented it 😦 and I didn’t want to anger the husband too much).

Screen Shot 2014-12-01 at 16.13.48

It’s absolutely beautiful though and will make an awesome cushion/beanbag or cot quilt for the little one (though this might be a project for his grandma!)

Follow @RainbowVintageHome on Instagram

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2014 by in Kids, Online owling, Owling at home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
