Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Scandinavian Design by Taschen

I bought this beautiful book some time ago, and it’s one of those lovely things which I pull out every once in a while and dip into. Now, I have an interest in mid-century and Scandinavian design, but cant profess to know much about it other than “I know what I like” (N.B.-that’s why writing this blog is so lovely as I get to learn more about what I find as I go along!)

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 09.47.31

To help me out this book also acts as a lovely little encyclopedia to dip in and out of and find out more about designers and their work… it covers furniture, ceramics, fabric, glass and all sorts so its a very wide range, and includes some of my favourite and well known designers and companies like Arne Jacobsen, Stig Lindberg, Fritz Hansen, Marimekko, Royal Copenhagen and Arabia. Sometimes I read about a designer or company’s ethos, but often I just stare at the pretty pictures. I’ve included some here for you – Enjoy!

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 09.47.48

Talking about Arabia, does anyone remember the glass coasters or small dishes I sold a while back? This is the blog here.

145420442961192268_12004616

Well I was a bit green back then and didn’t realise that I had some original Arabia Finland dishes on my hands. I regret selling them and think about them A LOT – ah well, you win some you lose some.

I might just have to dig around for some more on eBay, or buy some reproduction ones from Skandium… Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 09.47.58

Buy the book from the Taschen website here.

Leave a Reply

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
