Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Vintage London: Lucy in Disguise

I’m lucky to work in the centre of London, just off historic Carnaby Street which is definitely a lovely place to be, and I’m lucky to have a range of vintage stores right on my doorstep!

The other day when I was looking for a very specific outfit for an event I was going to (The Chap Olympiad, more of which later) I happened upon a really gorgeous little shop which I had passed a number of times before but never been into, called Lucy in Disguise.

Located on Lexington Street the store has a really lovely range of handpicked dresses – the vast majority of which are absolutely beautiful and unlike anything you will get anywhere else.

The store was originally set up as a concept by Lilly Allen and her sister Sarah Owen as a place where people could rent designer vintage gowns. It now sells a range of pieces across styles and eras.

I was quite concerned that I had left it too late for this particular event and was worried as well that vintage sizing can be a little temperamental and would I be able to find something to fit a size 12? Thankfully the assistant was so helpful and rushed around the shop picking out different bits and pieces for me to try!

I came out clutching a bag with the most nicely fitting and gorgeous dresses I think I’ve ever owned, here’s a sneak peek…

Vintage green poppy print dress

You’ll see more when I blog about the weekend’s festivities, coming soon!

From my perspective the dresses are really nicely priced as well, mine was £65 which was maybe more than more accomplished rummagers amongst you will spend, but it was such a lovely shopping experience I’d happily spend it all over again. You an also buy online on their website but I would definitely recommend visiting the store.

Check out the shop website at: lucyindisguiselondon.com

Follow them on twitter and instagram @lucyin_disguise

See inside the store on Grazia.com here.

P.S they also run vintage themed makeover parties which would be prefect for a Hen night – dont you think?

2 comments on “Vintage London: Lucy in Disguise

  1. Nat @ made in home
    July 18, 2013

    Sounds like a great shop!

  2. Pingback: Vintage London: The Chap Olympiad | Antique Owl

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2013 by in Designer Owling, Online owling, Vintage Fashion and tagged , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
