Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Hemswell Antique Centre, Part 1: A Yellow day

Today on our way home from a long weekend in Leeds we stopped off at Hemswell Antiques Centre, somewhere outside of Lincoln, as we travelled home. (That somewhere is in fact Hemswell – ex site of an RAF base).

Maybe it’s the long Easter weekend, the fact that it was sunny despite being blinking freezing, or the country air, but somehow I managed to walk around and pick out nearly every yellow thing I could find!

Below is a selection of the best bits I could find, I hope you enjoy them – Happy Easter!

Yellow glass and chrome cockerel cocktail set

I’m not sure if this is my favourite piece of the day, or if it’s one of the pieces below, but this chrome and glass cocktail set with an enamelled cockerel design in yellow seems like the perfect Easter antiques piece.

Pair of yellow mid-century vases

Two mid-century yellow glass vases with a ton of other mid-century coloured glass that really took my eye.

Yellow mid-century yellow glass vase

Ok ok, so this is my favourite piece of the whole day. I’m sad I had to leave it behind, but at £120 I didnt have much choice. Look at the amazing shape and the solidity of the colour. For now I’m going to keep telling myself that if I owned this I would have to get rid of all of my other stuff so that it could take pride of place – I dont want to do that – so it will have to find another home.

Victorian glass vase

Last but by no means least is this amazing victorian coloured vase with pink and yellow, how gorgeous it is in the sunlight – what a stunner.

You can find out more, and follow Hemswell antiques on twitter using this link, or online here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2013 by in Antique shop owling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
