Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Discovery: Natalie Gibson

You may remember that I mentioned I bought some fabric at MK Handmade and Vintage fair a few weeks ago. It’s a vintage Heals print by a fabric designer called Natalie Gibson who, when I got home, I couldn’t resist Googling to find out more.

Heals Daisy Chain fabric by Natalie Gibson

It seems that Natalie is now a lecturer at Central St.Martins teaching textile design and is an amazing character. I’ve found several colourful blogs about her and her style, as well as this gorgeous short film:

Video kindly embedded via stylelikeu.com

Isn’t she interesting? I love her collections, especially the Day of the Dead hearts – I’m desperate to visit that festival!

A quick scour of Pinterest turned up very few of her prints, however you can find more of her prints online at the V&A archives here and I’ve picked out a few of my favourites for you below – enjoy!

Bazaz print by Natalie Gibson

Natalie Gibson Natalie Gibson print Natalie Gibson vintage fabric Natalie Gibson Shimmy fabric Natalie Gibson My Love fabric

One comment on “Discovery: Natalie Gibson

  1. modflowers
    April 1, 2013

    What a lucky find! I love Natalie Gibson’s 1960s designs for Heals. She is right up there amongst their pantheon of talented fabric designers.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2013 by in Online owling, Owling at home and tagged , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
