Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

MK Handmade and Vintage Market, March

Every few months there’s a great little vintage fair in Milton Keynes in the middle of the centre MK. I remember going to one of the very first events which was way back in October 2011 and which inspired me to write this post about lamps – one of my very first posts!

MK Handmade and vintage

The fair has grown incredibly since then with a mishmash of handmade craft stalls, cupcakes, vintage fashion and of course lots of vintage and retro nicknacks. I’ve picked out some of my favourite bits from the fair below.

Amazing screenprinted 1950s party plates

These little paper plates really were my star of the whole thing – they have a completely cute 1950s design which appeared to be screen printed onto the plates. They were stunning and I now wish I’d picked them up but in reality they would have sat in a drawer in my house while I tried to decide what on earth I would do with them – obviously I could never use them!

Bits and bobs including an ace anatomical model

A selection of other bits and pieces, I particularly liked the anatomical model which was really lovely, but unfortunately while I was at the stall someone else came along and laid claim to it 😦

One thing I would like is if more of the sellers at the fair would have their business cards or names more clearly presented, as I cant keep track of them all and people with great stalls sometimes fall off my radar so I can’t give them credit here – such a shame!

Heals Daisy Chain fabric by Natalie Gibson

Last but by no means least I picked up this awesome vintage Heals fabric by Natalie Gibson. I’ve been inspired by Modflowers and Jane Foster Designs, to not bypass fabric which would previously daunt me as I wouldn’t know what to do with it! I’ve decided I’m going to use this fabric to make a lovely kitchen blind and possibly some cushions.

It’s also lead me to discover Natalie Gibson, who is frankly amazingly interesting, but that’s for another post.

Find out more about MK Handmade and Vintage Market on Facebook here – the next event is in June – make a note!

One comment on “MK Handmade and Vintage Market, March

  1. Pingback: Discovery: Natalie Gibson | Antique Owl

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2013 by in Designer Owling, Vintage stall owling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
