Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Eagle Annual: 1950s comic for boys

For Christmas my other half was given a really lovely book called Eagle Annual: The best of the 1950s comic. Its a modern book, reproducing loads of pages and articles from the famous comic for boys.

Eagle Annual cover

I’ve been having a look through it and the illustrations have really won me over…

The Routemaster

I love this spread showing the Routemaster bus with its dissection showing the internal engines. I also love how this old comic didn’t dumb down information but explained all sorts of scientific and engineering concepts from particle theory, splitting the atom and loads more.

In true 50’s style there was real positivity about technical progress and hope about the future which really shines through in the comic. Here’s a short quote from Frank Hampson, the founding illustrator of the comic:

“I wanted to give hope for the future, to show that rockets, and science in general, could reveal new worlds, new opportunities. I was sure that space travel would be a reality.”

Oh by-the-way you can find out more about Eagle on Wikipedia.

Cool illustrations

I love this image, I’m not really sure what’s going on but if there was a small zebra-elephant available I think I would definitely like one as a pet.

On top of all of these illustrations I really love some of the more outlandish articles like the ones below…

I become a knife-throwers target

I became a knife-throwers target! Amazing!

I become a living firework

I became a living firework? This particular one doesn’t sound very appealing or very safe to be showing young boys!

Keeping Goldfish

The comic also shared a lot of information about keeping animals and looking after your pets such as the article above about spotting fungus on your fish, of course.

Oh Boy!

What a cute advert – I love the idea that hundreds of little boys went out and asked their parents for a mac after this – the art of the trench indeed Burberry!

You can buy the Eagle Annual at Amazon – of course you can, they sell flippin’ everything.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2013 by in Owling at home and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
