Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Retro revolving restaurants, London BT Tower

I dont usually feature video on this blog but I saw this gorgeous documentary on YouTube the other day and just had to post it!

It’ so interesting to see a documentary about such a strange but awesome phenomenon from the 60s, the obsession with restaurants high up, and also revolving! I work close to BT tower in London, and would love to go back to that time and eat a lovely dinner up there! Amazing!

I also love how the window cleaners just casually step out of the tower into their cradle so nonchalantly and in a cardie, haha!

Take a look – I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

P.S – I wouldn’t normally link to the Mail for personal reasons, but there’s a good article here from 2009which includes a lot of detail about the tower’s heyday which includes this awesome Cocktail menu…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2012 by in Online owling, Owling at home and tagged , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
