Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

One Lovely Blog Award

Aw, I’m so honoured to be nominated for a blog award from a blog which I read avidly and love very much, Re-Retro! Edwina has a great love of Bakelite which is really inspiring and I love the way she describes local Australian potteries and bits and pieces.

You can find Re:Retro here – and it’s well worth a read!

As for accepting the award in order to do so I have to:

1. Link back to the blog which nominated me (done – see above!)

2. Describe 7 random facts about myself, and…

3. Nominate 15 other blogs that I love…

So I’m not sure how many random facts about me you really need but here goes: Antique Owl was named after a large pewter Owl which one of my best friends bought me as a housewarming and also because you have to have beady owl eyes if you want to find hidden treasures! I like collecting pretty much anything, from screen printed posters, vinyl toys and records. I’m an avid ale drinker and a sucker for lovely packaging. By day I’m a Digital Project Manager with a penchant for pretty design and typography. Oh, and I’d love to own an Arne Jacobsen chair one day…

As for nominating my favourite blogs, I’m usually so busy that I dont always check in and tend to read them mostly on my phone when digests are sent through to me, so I’m not sure I have 15, but these are my favourites…

Lulastic and the Hippyshake

I love this other Bedford-based blogger, this article about using old wallpaper to make lovely tins to give as presents is so simple but effective. I always see wallpaper but never buy it because I’m not sure what to do with it – so I love this!

Kukkuk.me

Though not a similar blog to mine I love the blog of this Copenhagen-based fashion fan. I also love the photographs used and the off the wall fashions like these gorgeous Birkenstocks!

Amusing the Zillion

I love this blog which focuses on the history and the businesses that make up Coney Island, so interesting and quirky, I’d love to visit one day!

Mirror with a Memory

It’s so lovely when you read a blog from someone who really lives their passion, and this antiques blog is probably one of my favourite, I used this blog as a model for my own when I was getting started and the helpful comments I received really helped to spur me on with my blogging.

2 comments on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. mirrorwithamemory
    November 27, 2012

    Hi, Antique Owl! I just now have the chance to catch up on award nominations, which means I just read this post for the first time. Thank you so much for the sweet write-up. I truly appreciate it!

  2. antiqueowl
    November 27, 2012

    Hiya! No problem – thanks so much for reading – still love your blog – keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2012 by in Online owling, Owling at home and tagged , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
