Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Kyoto International Manga Museum vintage fashion book

I recently visited Japan which I was at first calling “a once in a lifetime” trip, but on visiting I think it’s actually necessary to go back. I’m already pining after it!

In Kyoto we visteded the International Manga Museum which was like a giant library fully of manga cartoon comics, including a full wall of comics in English.

I especially liked looking through the 1940s and 1950s comics within the Japanese section of the museum there was something stylisticly great about the quaint drawings, especially within the “sport manga” stories all about tennis and football teams but it was also nice to handle something which might have been read by generations of Japanese.

The section I most fell in love with, though, was devoted to fashion illustration and art, especially this book in particular, which I was very pleased to find in the little shop on our way out!

Unfortunately, it being in Japanese, I literally cant tell you anything about it or it’s author, I cant even Google it to direct you to more information. All I can say is that I fell in love with the illustrations and the juxtaposition of Japanese and Western fashions.

I’ve picked out some of my favourite illustrations. I hope you like them!

You can also read more about Kyoto in here and here!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2012 by in Owling abroad, Owling at home and tagged , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
