Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Other Olney Antiquing

I’ve written about The Antiques Centre at Olney before, tucked behind the main shops this little emporium had a lot of different cabinets with all sorts ranging from newer items, to upcycled, kitchenalia, and lots of jewellery and trinkets.

It’s nice to have a wander around, especially in the side area which is open and you can get in and look at the pieces.

I have an absolutely horrible coat hanger in my hallway, which was inherited from the previous owner and I’m desperate to get rid of it!

Hallways are always strange spaces where you need storage but ultimately there isn’t much room for any, so I have been looking for something similar to this for a while. The top could be used to store or display a few bits while coats hang underneath.

In the absence of being able to afford a TFL luggage rack there were a good-ish buy at £90 but had been given a pretty dodgy paint job (it seems that often this is what constitutes “upcycled”). I honestly am done with shabby chic and the horrible reproductions, so this would need sanding and re-varnishing.

I love these 1950s tin toys because they look so old and cross eyed! Fido the dog plays a xylophone which is just awesome.I love looking at the old packaging too because it’s always so colourful and graphic. These were really nice little things.

Being a fan of the pickled onion, I was quite tempted to take home these little forks with cute coloured plastic handles.

They would really bring a bit of class to a nice party serving cheese and pineapple on sticks, cocktail sausages and silverskin onions!

Finally I spotted this fine silver plated deco style jug with a lid. I love the shape of the handle on this!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2012 by in Antique shop owling and tagged , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
