Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Japan owling – Part 2

I did fall in love with one little shop in Kyoto so much that I felt it warranted it’s own little blog post, all to itself!

On a damp morning on a walk up to the Kiomizu temple we discovered this little shop run by a really lovely little old lady who didn’t speak a word of English! I loved all of the older pieces which we hadn’t seen amongst the typical tourist shops in the area. It was so much fun poking through a lot of dusty sake cups and rice bowls, miso bowls and plates of all kinds. We bought a number of sake cups which were small and easy to bring home! Success!

The window was full of little bits and pieces of all colours and shapes. Completely delightful!

I loved these three plates which she had available in a kind of matt grey/brown/black and gloss white. They all had different patterns which would look so cool if you were having friends round for cake (in my dream retro world where everyone is always drinking tea and eating cake…)

I picked up some sake cups as gifts for people at home but also fell in love with this little item…

I did spot some other similar bowls and things which had been panted in this style of design but none were as small and well painted as this one (at 5cm in diameter). I love her face, as well as the Japanese writing on the side.

Now owling is difficult at the best of times, getting to the bottom of when an item was made and what it’s purpose was. It’s made all the more difficult when you’re somewhere with a language as difficult as Japanese, so I have no idea what era this cup is from (though I would like to imagine that it is 1950s, it certainly has the crazing I’d associate with an older object). If anyone has any more information about the piece then I’d be very interested to hear about it!

4 comments on “Japan owling – Part 2

  1. mirrorwithamemory
    April 28, 2012

    Adorable little sake cups! I love the faces.

    Antique Owl, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. If you’re interested, follow the link to read more about it.

    http://mirrorwithamemory.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Congratulations! I enjoy reading your blog.

    Sincerely,
    mirrorwithamemory

  2. Pingback: Kyoto International Manga Museum vintage fashion book « Antique Owl

  3. pdnomura
    February 28, 2014

    I have the matching ramen bowl and was wondering who made these. The artist’s name is hand written on the bottom in the unglazed section but I do not read Kanji. Have you found anything out about these ceramics yet?

    • antiqueowl
      June 10, 2014

      Hi there – sorry for the delay in replying! Unfortunately I just dont know anything about these ceramics at all but I’m happy to meet someone who loves them as much as I do! If you find out anything about them please pass it on 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2012 by in Antique shop owling, Owling abroad and tagged , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
