Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Owling at other people’s houses: The Parents

I recently wrote a blog about a new habit of mine which I have developed since starting this blog. Quite simply, I can’t visit anyone’s house anymore without going snooping for treasures!

I got my thirst for antiques and collectables from my parents, so I thought I would show you a few of the things that they have picked up from antiques fairs over the past couple of years…

I love these bowls which have both unglazed areas as well as an amazing design created with different coloured glazes which gives a great effect in the base. It’s such a retro look with these slightly acid colours, and I love the clash with the matt grey. I’ve seen similar ones at antiques fairs but never together in a set, also these are in perfect condition with no chips at all.

I love how each of these bowls have been made so that they fit neatly one inside the other so that you can easily tidy them away.

Retro kitchenalia is always good, especially if it helps make awesome cakes. I love this 1950s Tala egg whisk because its so well weighted its really easy to use. I’ve had a similar whisk for a long time but it’s too light and makes it really difficult to use. Seems like back in the day they just knew what you needed when you were in the kitchen, it’s exactly the same with my vintage T.G. Green mixing bowl which has a genius tilt base and is also really well weighted. They, just dont make ’em like they used to. I’ve found a similar one on eBay in a cream colour.

I love these bowls which are just large enough for a couple of scoops of ice cream and are in a range of different colours. They’re really thin and dainty; perfect for a nice dinner party.

Last but by no means least, I love this coffee set, with it’s pot, jug and little coffee cups and saucers. I love that these are black on the outside with 1950s pastel pink, yellow and green on the insides. This kind of thing just never ever goes out of style and I wish this was mine, maybe one day I’ll be able to smuggle out the whole set, piece by piece!

2 comments on “Owling at other people’s houses: The Parents

  1. modflowers
    November 13, 2014

    I thought you were going to admit at the start of the post that you had been “picking things up” from other people’s houses!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2012 by in Antique shop owling, Owling at home and tagged , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
