Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Peterborough Antiques Fair, Part 2

Yesterday afternoon when the sun was shining we slightly shunned the cattle sheds (Peterborough Antiques Fair is based at the East of England showground) in favour of checking out the outside stalls out into the field behind, which definitely seemed like the best way forward, especially with an ice cream in hand.

Outside was quite a bizarre range of bits and pieces from taxidermy, to outdoor and indoor furniture, as well as a number of stalls selling brilliant enamelled canteen lamps.

On such a sunny day this particular stall screamed picnic to me, the great graphic design on the vintage flask and the great retro glasses on a formica table. I would have taken all of it home if I could have!

These tins really reminded me of the Trumpton tin mentioned in my post about my great-grandma’s Trumpton button tin. I love the Muffin the Mule one but the Noddy one reminds me of the seaside for some reason, I seem to remember watching it when I was small at my grandma and grandad’s house.

The next item warrants two whole images to itself:

I spotted this amazing T.G Green pot which was really sweet and was made for Guinness.  It included all of the iconic Guinness characters, in a really nice 50s design and was really cute! The above shows a pelecan, kangaroo, and something else which I cant identify… ideas?

I love this side which includes the iconic toucan, and ostrich, all chasing (or being chased by?) the zookeeper!

Now I often include taxidermy on this blog, but sometimes you just come across something incredibly random. This little lobster thing is really weird and included shells and all sorts. I’ve never seen anything quite so odd so I thought it deserved a place in this post.

So used to seeing taxidermy in dusty horrible glass cases so it was nice to see these guys out in the open.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2012 by in Antique shop owling and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 155 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
