Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

The Republic of Fritz Hansen

Working in central London, there are always amazing bits and pieces around the corner, sometimes you just have to go out and find them.

On my way out for Vietanmese noodles at lunch the other day I came across this great design store, Republic of Fritz Hansen. I have to say I didnt know a hell of a lot about them but was drawn in by the mid-century modern and Skandi style design.

Brightly coloured chairs and lots of steamed beech wood? Yes, I think I might go in. I’ve done some research on Fritz Hansen now and you can find out more here – it’s exciting stuff!

Immediately as I went in I saw this Arne Jacobsen chair, an icon in itself but the fabric covering is something really special, the muted colours and lines seem really modern, but tribal.

The fabric used to cover the chair was this amazing Paul Smith fabric, created in conjunction with Maharam. It’s made using dense rayon yarns secured in  a fine nylon binder, so it’s really durable as well as beautiful. I’m already planning what I might be able to do with this stuff if I had the cash!! (Maharam’s website is a flash site, so I cant give you a direct link, but you should be able to find it if you choose “Collaborators”).

I’m a sucker for a lamp, and I’m a sucker for steam-bent wood in all forms, so this lighting display was a dream.

Towards the back of the store modern items are mixed with vintage mid-century pieces to put together a really nice style. I particularly loved the Catherineholm enamelled pieces like the ones below:

I’ve seen a few of these on eBay recently and they seem to be having a bit of a resurgence (Stylist magazine have also been using an image of one of these kettles in some editorial about a forthcoming London-based vintage fair). They have a bit of a cult following online and I’m determined to get a couple of pieces!

Love the pattern used on this set, which really reminds me of the Royal Copenhagen plate which I mentioned in my blog about Nana Dobbie in Lostwithiel.

I also picked up a couple of books while I was there, the first, is a listing of design-relaterd haunts in London and where I’ve found out a little more about the historty of the Fritz Hansen store. It’s here in London as part of a store called Skandium, which isnt too far from whewre I work, so I’m planning on visiting today! They sell Marimekko, and I’m a bit obsessed with their stuff, so I’d better not take my credit card!

The book is a lovely tome and will be really useful as I look for further inspiration. You can find out more and buy it here.

I also picked up a book by the V&A museum about 50s pattern which is a great find, but that’s for another post!

Leave a Reply

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
