Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Biggleswade Antiques Fair, Part 2.

The Biggleswade Antiques Fair was really quite huge and was too large to cover in my last post. There were so many bits that I couldn’t stop myself just snapping away and I’ve saved some more gems for this post!

I’m a big fan of Langoustine so this plate stood out a mile for me. Being Carlton Ware it also stood out amongst the other bits on this stand. Turns out that Carlton did a number of pieces like this and they’re all super cute, as much as a crustacean can be cute that is!

These show up all over the place and are really popular, butt he ones I like the best are the ones which have some lovely typography on them, these were some good examples which would make great vases for a vintage style wedding.

So beautiful, so well made, and so completely endearing; these tiny spoons were also in perfect condition so you can see why they had such a hefty price tag. I cant imagine what kind of 1950s party these would have been used at but I wish I could have been there!

I loved this cute 1960s jug. It came from a stall which had a number of 1950s and 60s things with a lady who was only too pleased to talk me through lots of bits and pieces. She was great. Love the whimsy of these items bordering on kitsch.

Finally, from the same stall as the jug pictured above, was this really gorgeous Royal Dux vase, again from the 50s. It’s hard to do it justice in this photo but it had a really lovely and understated style which is so elegant.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2012 by in Antique shop owling and tagged , , , , , , , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
