Antique Owl

Beady eyed bird looking for collectables and design stuff

Discovery: Studio Steinbock, Austria

At the weekend we visited the Woburn Antiques fair and I spoke to a really nice dealer who introduced me to Studio Steinbock.

I fell in love with this little dish, which looked absolutely gorgeous under her halogen lights, but which, I’m afraid cant be done justice by my pictures.

This bowl was only really small, perhaps enough to keep some jewellery on a nice dressing table, but the design was so detailed, especially when you consider that Steinbock made metalwear, that is, metal bowls, vases and bells, which were completely enamelled. While not really my cup of tea, the bells are really intricately made and apparently have a beautiful and distinctive ring.

The dealer told me that she collected these in the 50s and 60s when she lived in Austria, and a little investigation shows that some of them fetch a fair amount of money when they go on sale. I did a quick eBay (always a good quick gauge of something’s popularity or rarity) and could only find one Steinbock item on there and a few elsewhere.

The designs vary and often feature animals such as deer, and I can’t say that they are all my style as I think anyone in England is pre-programmed to associate deer with Christmas, but the colours and design of this one is gorgeous.

I love gold with turquoise, and there was a lot of really beautiful gold outline and detailing on this piece. I also love that the hunter looks more scared and embarrassed than the huge rabbit (or hare) that he’s planning to shoot!

There’s so much detail that the maker’s mark is just as lovely, I was told that all of the pieces were given different girls’ names, this piece is Liesl. I’m slightly kicking myself that I didn’t manage to bring this piece home with me, so I’ll be looking out for them again in the future!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2012 by in Antique shop owling and tagged , , .

RSS Shop

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Copy and images

All copy on this blog remains the property of Samantha Villis. Please ask permission copying or re-blogging. I dont bite. Images are my own unless otherwise stated. I try to give credit for images whenever possible.
